Attack on Titan: No Regrets OVAs Announced

The 14th and latest volume of Hajime Isayama’s Attack on Titan (Shingeki no Kyojin) manga has announced that Gan Sunaaku and Hikaru Suruga’s spin-off manga Attack on Titan: No Regrets will be adapted into two OVAs. They will be released as DVDs bundled with the 15th and 16th volumes of Isayama’s main manga.


Attack on Titan: No Regrets (Shingeki no Kyojin Gaiden: Kuinaki Sentaku) is a prequel manga series written by Gan Sunaaku and illustrated by Hikaru Suruga. The series began serialization in Kodansha’s Aria magazine in September last year and the first compiled volume was published this June, with the second releasing on October 28. The manga follows the two strongest men in the series, Levi and Erwin, in their early days as they rise up the ranks and stay alive. The OVA will feature the return of the voice cast and staff from the 2013 TV anime:


  • Hiroshi Kamiya (Yuzuru Otonashi in Angel Beats!) returns to voice Levi
  • Daisuke Ono (Sebastian Michaelis from Black Butler) returns as Erwin


  • Director: Tetsuro Araki (Death Note, Guilty Crown)
  • Series Composer: Yasuko Kobayashi (JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure, Shakugan no Shana)
  • Character Designer: Kyoji Asano (Psycho-Pass, Tokyo Marble Chocolate)
  • Animation Production: Wit Studio (Attack on Titan, Hoozuki no Reitetsu)

Here is a synopsis of the manga:

This prequel to megahit Attack on Titan answers the questions: How did Captain Levi of the Survey Corps go from street tough to humanity’s strongest soldier? And how did Commander Erwin become a cold, calculating leader, ready to sacrifice anything to save the human race? The fires that forged this bond of loyalty and trust were intense indeed!

Here is a key visual of the spin-off manga:


The Shingeki no Kyojin series was created by Hajime Isayama. It started off as a manga in 2009 and is published in Kodansha’s monthly Bessatsu Shounen Magazine. To date there has been 13 compiled volumes of the manga. A prequel light novel adaptation started in 2011, and two spin-off manga started serialization in 2012: Shingeki no Kyojin: Before the Fall and Shingeki! Kyojin Chuugakkou. In April 2013 the series was picked up for an anime adaptation. The anime series was produced by the newly formed Wit Studios. The series has grown in popularity since the anime’s debut, with the manga selling over 36 million copies as of April this year. Numerous game adaptations of the film were created following the anime, such as an online browser game and the Nintendo 3DS title Attack on Titan: The Last Wings of Mankind.


The two Attack on Titan: No Regrets OVAs will release as a bundle with the 15th and 16th volumes of the Attack on Titan manga. The 15th volume will release on December 9th this year and the 16th volume will release on April 9th next year. Each bundle will cost ¥2,840 (~ $28.40 USD).

Source Article and Image – Anime News Network
“Attack on Titan”, “Shingeki no Kyojin”, “Shingeki no Kyojin Gaiden: Kuinaki Sentaku“, “Attack on Titan: No Regrets”, images and all associated brands and titles © 2014 Hajime Isayama, Kodansha, Wit Studio and Shingeki no Kyojin Production Committee