Zaregoto OVA Series – Promotional Video

The first promotional video has been release for the upcoming OVA adaptation of NisiOisin and Take’s Zaregoto novel series, titled Kubikiri Cycle: Aoiro Savant to Zaregototsukai. The new video introduces to us the main characters of the series and showcases the visuals that studio Shaft are known for. The Opening theme song of the OVAs, Cobalt World by Sangatsu no Phantasia, is also previewed.

The first volume of the Zaregoto OVAs will be out on Blu-ray  and DVD on October 26th.

Here is the OVA’s announcement video:

The OVAs will be titled Kubikiri Cycle: Aoiro Savant to Zaregototsukai. comprised of 8 episodes. The OVAs will be released on Blu-ray and DVD at the end of every month, for ¥3,600 (~ US$34.60) each, with the following release schedule:

  • Volume 1: October 26th
  • Volume 2: November 28th
  • Volume 3: December 28th
  • Volume 4: January 25th, 2017
  • Volume 5: February 22nd, 2017
  • Volume 6: March 29th, 2017
  • Volume 7: April 26th, 2017
  • Volume 8: May 24th, 2017

The main cast of the anime has been announced:

  • Yuuki Kaji (Eren Jaeger in Attack on Titan) will lead the cast to voice Boku



  • Aoi Yuuki (Madoka Kaname in Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica) as Tomo



  • Yuu Shimamura (Annie Leonhart from Attack on Titan) will voice Akane



  • Ayako Kawasumi (Saber from Fate/stay night) voicing as Kanami



  • Kenji Hamada (Teppei Kiyoshi from Kuroko’s Basketball) will voice the role of Sakaki



  • Aya Endou (Miyuki Takara from Lucky☆Star) as Maki



  • Haruna Ikezawa (Yoshino Shimazu from Maria-sama ga Miteru) is going to voice Yayoi



  • Mariya Ise (Stocking Anarchy from Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt) is voicing Iria



  • Houko Kuwashima (Tomoyo Sakagami in Clannad) voicing the role of Rei



  • Natsuko Kuwatani (Ryouko Asakura in The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya) as Akari



  • Ryouko Shintani (Sae in Hidamari Sketch) voices Hikari



  • Yuko Goto (Hiro from Hidamari Sketch) is voicing Teruko



  • Yuuko Kaida (Shimei Ryomou from Ikkitousen) voicing as Aikawa


The leading members of the anime’s production staff was also revealed and includes:

  • Chief Director: Akiyuki Simbo (Bakemonogatari, Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica)
  • Director: Yuki Yase (Mekakucity Actors)
  • Series Composer: Fuyashi Tou (Nisekoi, Bakemonogatari)
  • Scriptwriter: Yukito Kizawa (Tsukimonogatari, Nisekoi)
  • Anime Character Designer & Chief Animation Director: Akio Watanabe (Bakemonogatari, The World God Only Knows)
  • Chief Animation Director: Hirofumi Suzuki (The Last -Naruto the Movie-, Cossette no Shouzou)
  • Music Composer: Yuki Kajiura (Mahou Shoujo Madoka★MagicaBoku dake ga Inai Machi)
  • Audio Director: Yota Tsuruoka (Amagi Brilliant Park, Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica)
  • Animation Studio: Shaft (Bakemonogatari, Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica)

Japanese music group Sangatsu no Phantasia will be performing the Opening theme song of the anime Cobalt World. The Ending theme will be Marchen performed by Kalafina.


Here is the series synopsis from MAL:

The story revolves around protagonist “I” and the murders and mysteries he encounters. He tries in vain to stay out of the story, but instead he always gets dragged into the center of everything. Even though it seems that he contributes a lot, he always finds out that whatever he did was meaningless in the end.

You can visit the anime’s website here:
And follow NisiOisin’s anime projects on Twitter: @nisioisin_anime